New Publication (‘What accent are you?’)

Have you ever stopped in the middle of a conversation to think consciously about what accent you’re speaking in? To check if you’re pronouncing things ‘correctly’?

OFFICIAL_logo2

© Denizen

Thus begins my latest TCK essay entitled ‘What accent are you?‘ published just yesterday by Denizen, a highly acclaimed ‘online magazine and community dedicated to people who grew up in multiple countries, international school alumni, or Third Culture Kids.’

Now my faithful readers might be thinking, ‘Wait a minute, haven’t I already read something related to accents on your blog?’ You’re absolutely right. Back in September 2014, I wrote the post ‘Accents of the English Language‘ which documented my English accent transformations, starting from Singaporean English, to American English, to British English, and finally to Mid-Atlantic English.

Essentially, this latest essay contains many of the same points made in that post, but it’s much less a rambling rant (my blog post was pretty much a dump of undeveloped stream-of-consciousness) and more a coherent, properly-structured memoir. Plus, I’ve added several never-before-seen-or-told photos and amusing anecdotes. So please have a read, and if you like it, please share it!

1 Japan (Justin Lau)

Some of my fourth grade classmates at Christian Academy in Japan, the American international school I attended. (Me: front row, second from left, kid with glasses.)

Special thanks to my editor, Steph Yiu, who is also the founder of Denizen! A fellow TCK, she has lived in Hong Kong, Taipei, Singapore, Edinburgh, Portland, Chicago and Boston. She has also written a humorous essay regarding her accent experiences (like me, she attended an American school) which you can read here: ‘The white lies TCKs tell‘. Follow her on Twitter and check out her blog.

In fact, if you’re a TCK who wants to read well-written personal stories to feel a sense of solidarity or articles for advice, do browse around Denizen—it’s a great site, created by TCKs for TCKs. If you’re not a TCK, and you’re wondering what in the world is a TCK, you can start here: ‘Third Culture Kids‘; or you can read my previous article here: ‘TCKs: Children of the World‘.

mqdefault

BONUS: if you read ‘What accent are you?‘ and you’re dying to know what my Transatlantic accent sounds like, you can watch a bunch of YouTube videos of my friend BradfromBradford and I discussing the differences between British and American English here: ‘Talking British‘. I’m supposedly speaking Mid-Atlantic English with British inflections. Maybe. I think. Who knows. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “New Publication (‘What accent are you?’)

    • Thank you for your time and effort and for being a brilliant editor! I’ve had bad experiences with a few, and it makes for some (now) entertaining stories. All right, back to my dissertation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

