My name is Justin Lau. What’s yours?

Hi there! My name is Justin Lau. What’s yours?

No, really, I’d like to know. You’ve stumbled upon this site, whether by chance, coincidence or even fate, and you taking the time to read this means a lot to me. I’d love to connect with you!

Now I suspect some of you might be asking the following: What is this site? Is it just another excessive WordPress page? What do you mean writings of a… ‘Vagabond at Peace’? Huh? This isn’t another blog of an aspiring (and untalented) author, is it? What kind of name is ‘Justin Lau’ anyway? Isn’t ‘Lau’ a Chinese name, why is he blogging in English?

Let me explain. Yes, I am an aspiring author (hopefully not so untalented) and I realised the importance of having a blog which showcases my writing, from fictional pieces to personal musings to incomprehensible ramblings. Because who knows? There might be someone out there who is interested in reading what I have to write, listening to what I have to say. And hopefully you can find something with which to connect. If you do, I will be happy. Very happy. And I will be even happier if you let me know. Then we can be happy together. (Unless what I wrote made you sad, then we can be sad together.)

This isn’t my first attempt at blogging. 4 years ago, I maintained and updated regularly a blog of reviews (containing my humble insights on films, books and music) which surprisingly still records hits from time to time (a modest 50,000 hits so far). Recently, but still 2 years ago, I started a more personal blog, which contained posts like ‘Famous People I’ve Encountered’ and ‘Most Frequented Eateries: Tokyo’ and a ‘Love Letter to Carey Mulligan’ (which unsurprisingly hasn’t even reached 1000 hits). This is my third try and hopefully will be much more successful than my previous attempts.

If you’d like to find out more about me, check out my About page. But before I finish this first introductory post, I guess I should explain what I mean by ‘vagabond at peace’ (a phrase I’ve grown increasingly fond of). As explained in the About page, I’m extremely multicultural. Though I am based in Japan, I move around a lot. Thus I consider, and even call several locations my ‘home’, and genuinely mean it. Because after all, home is more about the people than the place. I’ve fully embraced my international identity (after experiencing and overcoming the TCK identity crisis) and though I’ll always be on the move (‘vagabond’), I am completely ‘at peace’ with my life. In fact, I love it.

That’s about it for now, thanks for reading to the end. If you have any questions (or insults, if you must), please leave a comment! Here’s to the start of a new writing blog and a great adventure. Won’t you join me?

Justin

9 thoughts on “My name is Justin Lau. What’s yours?

  1. Pingback: I thought it would be fun if we blog hopped | Seymour Writes

Leave a Reply

